sanguinemare

March 29, 2017

Struggles of a grad student – Part 1

Filed under: "Me" updates,Grad school,Research — sanguinemare @ 1:49 pm

Today was the epitome of Murphy’s law for a grad student – the classic case of needing to order supplies for a key experiment, and the lab not having it… and then not being able to order it due to a series of unfortunate events: the supply center which I’d sent the order in to yesterday is apparently closing and not accepting any more orders –> the other person we place orders from has an auto-reply e-mail saying they are out having surgery and not to place orders until they’re back tomorrow unless it’s an emergency, then contact person b –> person b also has an automated e-mail reply saying they are out of the office today and won’t be responding e-mails until tomorrow –> another supply center that I found out about from the one that’s closing ALSO has an auto-reply e-mail saying they are out of town right now and will only intermittently check e-mail.  *Sigh*  At least that means I should be able to place an order first thing tomorrow, but it also means that’s another day’s delay before I can start the assays.  At least there’s a few other steps (aka days’ worth of work) that I have the resources for beforehand.

Generally this sort of thing can be avoided if 1) there is good communication in the lab (and/or a good lab manager and/or a good system in place so you can easily check the lab inventory), and 2) you plan ahead.  Both are good practices to have so you don’t need to delay your work just to wait on things to arrive.

Sometimes, however, it is not really avoidable, such as in this case, where the study only recently finished, I only just figured out how many samples I had total, and then found out that there’s a 384-well plate machine on the 2nd floor that we are allowed to use that would make my life a LOT simpler (less reagents used per sample and a lot less plates to run: 12 vs. 46)… but the catch is that we’d have to buy the plates ourselves.  So I decided to try to go for that, and that’s how this happened.  Also decided to order some different primers to try based on the literature, and those need to be custom-made and take time, so yeah.  Timing is so tight right now because I have a committee meeting set for the end of April, and the extractions and processing itself will likely take 2-3 weeks of full day schedules, plus analysis time and putting together a presentation (while writing 2 papers and my thesis).  Additionally, I just found out from the lab I was supposed to get my samples from today that because they aren’t getting in the new freezer until tomorrow, I won’t be able to access my samples until Friday afternoon after they’ve re-put everything back where it needs to be.  These are the little day-to-day things that people don’t really think of being part of research, but are snags that will affect how quickly things can be done.

Anyway!  At least the couple days’ reprieve from retrieving and processing samples means I have time to look over the short students’ Letter to the Editor I wrote with a couple students on a side project that just got accepted with minor revisions, as well as to re-draft my 2nd paper, which my PI and I just decided we should expand to a full manuscript yesterday (as vs. the Brief Report we were originally thinking of submitting it as – there are different lengths and purposes of publications, which I might get into in a future post if anyone’s interested).  So yeah, that’s life at the moment!  No rest for the grad student – at least not one who’s trying to graduate in a couple months.

Catch you guys later!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

