sanguinemare

August 11, 2011

Guess who just finished her first med school exam?? and mini-rant on computerized tests

Filed under: Med School and the MSTP — sanguinemare @ 12:19 pm
Tags: , , ,

We just had our first medical school test this morning.  We were separated into 3 groups by last name, and took the test at 3 different times this morning.  The third group should be going by now.  I caught myself almost violating the Honor Code because I almost slipped and mentioned what topic I should have studied more on when I was chatting with a classmate who hadn’t yet taken the test.  A slightly awkward silence ensued, and was politely covered up by both of us.  Oops.

I did fairly well, especially for not having studied much.  I got a little distracted with a new comedian I discovered on Youtube, and with talking with a friend about how much we miss my home state.  He also convinced me to finish my Wards reflection essay instead of continuing to study last night (which I will probably be posting on here at some point), because as he said, I wouldn’t want to work on it after finishing the test.  He was right!  Haha.  So yes, didn’t get much sleep, didn’t study that much, did fine.  The fact that we all knew we only needed a ~12% on the test and that no quartiles were being formed yet for the class was a major stress reliever.  Although I hear some students still spent the whole last week studying… guess that shows who the hard workers are.

There seems to be a pretty big dichotomy here – those who study for hours and “don’t have a life” and people who think it’s boring, a waste of time, and still have fun every day.  Of course, this may just be a last hurrah for the latter before the real grind starts, but it is interesting to see.  I personally am somewhere in the middle – I think some of the topics are interesting (otherwise I wouldn’t post about them haha), but I also subscribe to the feeling that “real” school hasn’t started yet.  We shall see how we change throughout the next year I suppose.

On a slight tangent, I really hate taking computerized tests. Why? Let me list the ways:

  1. Inability to use a pencil and paper, which is my preferred method of taking notes or tests.  A lot of stuff goes with this, as you will see in 2, 3, 5, and 6.
  2. Inability to fill in bubbles!  This goes along with the first one, but I used to love filling in bubbles for multiple choice tests.  There’s just something satisfying about it, and erasing and re-filling a bubble if you need to change an answer.
  3. Inability to mark the sheet when you are unsure of an answer.  Yes, I know, you can “flag” answers, like we had today, but it’s not the same.  And you have to scroll through a long list of numbers to find a particular marked question, instead of just quickly scanning a sheet that has everything laid out right there.
  4. Infernal clicking from all corners of the room, which interfere with thought processes, both when trying to figure out the answer, and when trying to read the actual question in the first place.  Perhaps I should invest in some good ear plugs.
  5. Inability to take notes/use the test question booklet as scratch paper to draw on the diagrams, etc to help figure out the problem.  This requires having to either supply your own scratch paper and redraw any figures, potentially difficult for those who can’t draw and wastes precious time, or having to do things in your head.
  6. Along with that is the annoyance of having to move your head up and down as you try to solve the problem on a piece of paper, then looking at the answer choices, then going back to the paper if you messed up, then looking back at the screen to click the answer. And repeat.  Much easier if you just write and fill in a bubble right on your desk.
3 Comments »

  1. Don’t even get me started about computerized testing. Honestly, testing on the computer violates the point of technology (at least for students): to make life easier. Scrolling through a passage to look for a line is much harder than glancing at a passage on the paper in front of me. The least they can do is enable the ctrl F function. Sometimes, though, I wonder if we dislike it just because we aren’t used to it yet.

    Comment by foreverastudentoflife — August 14, 2011 @ 11:53 pm | Reply

    • Oh, and congrats on finishing your first exam!

      Comment by foreverastudentoflife — August 14, 2011 @ 11:54 pm | Reply

      • SERIOUSLY! Yay, someone else who feels the same way! Haha. Yea, I can’t imagine the new generation who will only grow up taking computerized tests. The horror haha. I wonder if they will view taking tests on paper as horribly archaic, or if they would be open to the idea. Hm..

        And thanks! 🙂

        Comment by sanguinemare — August 15, 2011 @ 9:23 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

